

Notice of a meeting of Standards Committee

Friday, 9 December 2011 2.30 pm

Membership	
Borough Councillors:	Les Godwin, Rowena Hay and Robin MacDonald
Parish Councillors:	Gloria Coleman, David Iliffe and Paul Ryder
Independent Members:	Duncan Chittenden, John Cripps, Simon Lainé (Chairman), Jon Leamon and David O'Connor

Agenda

- 1. APOLOGIES
- 2. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST
- 3. **MINUTES** (Pages 1 4)

To approve the minutes of the meeting held on the 17 June 2011

- 4. MEMBERS REPORTS ON ATTENDANCE AT COUNCIL, COMMITTEE AND PARISH COUNCIL MEETINGS AND OTHER MEETINGS ARISING
- 5. UPDATE ON THE LATEST BULLETINS AND COMMUNICATIONS FROM STANDARDS FOR ENGLAND
- **6. REVIEW OF PROGRESS AGAINST WORK PLAN** (Pages 5 6) A review of future plans
- 7. LOCALISM ACT 2011

Verbal update from the Borough Solicitor and Monitoring Officer

8. LOCAL GOVERNMENT ACT 1972 - EXEMPT INFORMATION

The Committee is recommended to approve the following resolution:

"That in accordance with Section 100A(4) Local Government Act 1972 the public be excluded from the meeting for the remaining items of business as it is likely that, in view of the nature of the business to be transacted or the nature of the proceedings, if members of the public are present there will be disclosed to them exempt information as defined in paragraphs 2 and 7C, Part 1, Schedule 12A (as amended) Local Government Act 1972, namely:

Paragraph 2

Information which is likely to reveal the identity of an individual.

Paragraph 7C

Information presented to a Standards Committee, or to a subcommittee of a Standards Committee, set up to consider any matter under regulations 13 or 16 to 20 of the Standards Committee (England) Regulations 2008, or referred under section 58(1)(c) of the Local Government Act 2000.

9. EXEMPT MINUTES

(Pages 7 - 8)

To approve the exempt minutes of the meeting held on the 17 June 2011

10. INVESTIGATION OF AN ALLEGED BREACH OF THE BOROUGH COUNCIL'S CODE OF CONDUCT

(Pages 9 - 110)

Report of the Borough Solicitor and Monitoring Officer

11. ANY OTHER BUSINESS

12. DATE OF NEXT MEETING

09 March 2012

Contact Officer: Saira Malin, Democracy Officer, 01242 775153

Email: democratic.services@cheltenham.gov.uk